Happy Belated Birthday

I work myself up
Thinking
Overthinking
Remembering everything that happened
Or everything you did

Guilt fills me
When you pop into my mind
Over a memory we shared
Or a place we never went to

Dark days with gloomy thoughts
Are spent rehearsing my apology
For nothing that I know
But saved just in case

Every time I think I’m over you
I never thought I was
Never thinking I would reach the point
Of forgetting your birthday

An aimless trip online today
Reminds me of the date
But not of you
And my relief is almost funny

april252012birthdaycake6x6oilonboard

instagram twitter pinterest | tumblr 

One thought on “Happy Belated Birthday

  1. Oh dear! Poor you filled with those ‘dark days and gloomy thoughts’. Things’ll get better – I promise. (But I appreciate that you spill your guts out poetically) Warmly, Arlene

Leave a Reply

