I’m sick of writing metaphors

I’m sick of writing metaphors
Cryptic thoughts have never been my strong point
The frustration of my reader not exactly knowing my reasons
Outweighs the feeling I have to keep my thoughts hidden
I know it works for other writers
But I never thought it worked for me

When I write about the sky I write about the stars and the galaxy
Not about the galaxy in my head
The ocean comes and goes just like my breath but I’d rather write about the sounds I hear on the beach
I could stick numerous amounts of detailed, eloquent, or revealing words to convey and reveal my vivid thoughts

But I don’t want to

Never have I thought it bothered me but I miss being
Real
Raw
Revealing

Poetry is like dessert to me
Enticing and exciting
But should not be with every meal

My thoughts are my meals
Presentation is not the most important element
But as long as it is there
And tastes satisfactory
Then I’m happy
Screen Shot 2017-02-07 at 19.24.04.png

instagram | twitter pinterest | tumblr

4 thoughts on “I’m sick of writing metaphors

  1. It’s refreshing to hear you say this. I’ve always believed that the job of the writer is to make things, even hard and painful things, clear. Not obscure and gauzy. Not exaggerated or overly dramatic just for the sake of it. Observations and details lead to concrete understandings, even if –especially if– the poet wants to invite the reader on a path that leads to something new.

Leave a Reply

