Spring

One of my favourite memories
Is walking home from school
On the first day of Spring

Ten years old
Finally allowed to walk the ten minutes
On my own
Along with the neighbour boy

He keeps going and I turn into my house
And the scent of freshly mowed grass
Hits me instantly
Filling my lungs

My dog greets me
Bringing me around to my back garden
Where my dad cuts the grass
And my mum is smiling again

The evenings are not dark
The winter has passed
And all is okay again

Snowdrop_bells.jpg

instagram | twitter pinterest | tumblr 

2 thoughts on “Spring

  1. There are three long months still before spring arrives here – if we are lucky a little taste comes in April. That means three more months of winter (and snow!!!)

Leave a Reply

