Shaking it up a bit

Exactly a year ago I decided I wanted to keep a schedule on this blog. For 52 weeks I have not missed a post and well… I’m kinda proud of that! I had never kept a schedule before and I wanted to challenge myself to produce something every week for year. It encouraged me to write, to not write, to give the opportunity to guest post and overall just to prove to myself I can stick to something for a year.
Buuuuuut I didn’t decide not to post last Friday. I knew I had a self deadline…I just knew it had been a year and if I didn’t feel like writing I would give myself the week off.
It was strange.
For the past year I posted every Friday at 11pm (Irish Time) and received constant feedback, and love, and likes, and comments that I loved receiving. It was strange not waking up to that on Saturday morning, or any other day to follow. I don’t know if I missed it, or if it was just strange.
For a while I’ve been feeling like I’m causing more distance between myself and what I post weekly. What I’m producing each week isn’t really an accurate depiction of my writing, and I don’t know how I feel about that.
However, I liked writing weekly, but I’m going to change the day of publication to a weekday…..which I’ll eventually decide on.
There’s a few things I’ve learned about myself in the past year through my writing. These include such life lessons as poetry makes feelings easier to cover up, I like writing to and recapping on the months, likes are not an accurate representation of how good my writing is, the sea is very easy to write about, and I really like the Oxford comma… just to name a few!
Here’s to the next chapter of EimzPink
Thank you for the past 52 weeks ❤

IMG_0146.JPG

instagram | twitter | pinterest | tumblr

16 thoughts on “Shaking it up a bit

  1. Well done on going 52 weeks on schedule! I am terrible at keeping to a schedule. I used to go weeks, sometimes months, without posting- but now I am determined to post at least twice a week. Only time will tell if I stick to it!

  2. Congrats on writing regularly, I am seriously impressed 🙂 Not missing a dealine for a year… I wish I could say that, lol.
    Also, totally with you on the Oxford Comma! ❤

  3. Nice post. I commend you on being so accountable of your weekly posts. I myself am trying to be consistent with my posts. Here’s to another good year of blogging. Cheers!

  4. Congrats on your commitment to your blog. May the words continue to flow for you, no matter the day of the week or time. i’ve found it’s hard to post regularly on a weekly basis. I have two blogs, one for my art and the other just started for my opinions and stuff, both just kinda happen when they happen at this point. But seeing your efforts is certainly inspiring!

  5. Dear ElmsPink, NOW I understand ’52’ more deeply! Good intention! I’ve done the same in the past. A 10 minute headstand everyday, a diet, a poem…Actually, the poem discipline has led to more discipline and better, deeper, concise poetry. Keep going ElmzPink! Arlene

Leave a Reply

