Grave Expectations

I hate cleaning my room
Not for the dust that gathers or the socks I forgot to pick up
But for the grave yard I discover

Filled with items from hobbies that I quit faster than I blinked

Guitars and other instruments I grew bored of
Sport medals from games I hated
Dance photos and drama tickets before stage fright kicked in
Art supplies that I never properly used

Started collections of dream catchers and snow globes
All started in a moment of passion
Only to fizzle out to something I used to do

But there was always my book shelf to remain constant
Even if it wasn’t constant with the same books

The only dust to gather was at the top

Since I can remember I always loved reading
It’s a reminder that something that can change so often can still capture my attention so despite all the things I used to do is in not a comparison to the books I used to own that each took me on their own adventure only to drop me back to the shelf

instagram | twitter | pinterest | tumblr

3 thoughts on “Grave Expectations

  1. I’ve always loved to read, too. When I was a girl growing up in the Black Belt of Alabama, it got pretty lonely at times. We just lived in such a rural area. One of my favorite places to go was our local library.

    I still love to read but often have trouble finding good books.

Leave a Reply

