Time Only kNows whY

“I miss her too” were the lasting words I heard you say
8 years ago
On the month after May

I was small and confused and didn’t know why
but we were all weak that day
and I saw you cry

But a memory so long ago remained in my head
one simple sentence
with nothing else said

Things never added up because I thought family was blood
but I found out why a long time after
and I thought I understood

Postcards address from her from Greece
although she was my grandmother
she was your niece

You chose to comfort me out of a sea of people you knew
everyone saw your glassy eyes
but you still stayed and kept pushing through

A moment I remember from the time I wish I could forget
and you may have even forgotten
the 10 year old sobbing brunette

6 thoughts on “Time Only kNows whY

Leave a Reply

