My Travel Must Haves!

image

To avoid your room from looking like this before you set off on a journey, you need to be prepared. 2014 brought me loads of travels. To France, to Spain, to Donegal, to Dublin, to Cork and to University in Galway, I’ve had more than my fair share of travelling! Not that I’m complaining of the travelling, of course not, but rather I’m complaining about the packing!

Someone once said that “Getting there is half the fun”. (If the other half is returning home then it must have been an awful trip! Ha ha ha I’m hilarious). If half the fun comprises of last minute packing and overthinking, then count me in! (Once again I’m so hilarious!)

My main obvious must haves for when I’m travelling is my phone, my laptop, every possible charger, my hair straightener, and a packet of crisps!

For holidays abroad, I pack a whole month into a suitcase when I should really be packing for a week. Basically, I’m not a light packer. I can’t just get up and go because that stresses me out too much. I also can’t pack in advance because I’m never too bothered. Oh the perks of being a procrastinating perfectionist!

You know those clear plastic zip bags you can get for the likes of make up?

I stole this photo from some website

These bad boys are my best friends. I use them for everything! I can see exactly whats inside them, which means things are never lost. AND they usually fit into hand bags so I never have to be rummaging around. I just have to whip out my clear bag and BAM I’ve found what I was looking for! (They’re also easy to clean and cheap to buy).

I’m the kind of person who is prepared for every situation possible. Because of this, I have taken the liberty to go through my basic carry bag and make a list of all the useless junk that I found in there. Enjoy.

  • Soap
  • Pen and paper
  • Pencil (in case the pen runs out)
  • Tissues and a bit of toilet paper
  • A portable water gun (I can’t even explain this one)
  • A mini torch
  • Plasters
  • Headphones
  • Lipgloss
  • Sweets from a box of roses (melted chocolate yaay)
  • Tan tights
  • Glitter nail polish

Obviously these aren’t must haves, but rather things-that-I-always-carry-around-just-in-case. I should be more practical and tell you to pack a toothbrush instead of a unicorn. (Yup, the first photo was actually my room.)

Oh, and don’t forget a nice pair of fresh socks on your travels!

***
Hi Friends! This post was inspired by RelayRides. They are a peer-to-peer sharing car rental service who are interested to find out how they can make travelling easier! If you have any suggestions, I’d love to hear them from you! I can’t be the only one who travels with an emergency unicorn, right?? 

 

Leave a Reply

