Is it possible to have a mid life crisis at 17?

Or am I just going through a horrible time? 

Everything has just crept up on me and it sucks. I’m not gonna lie, it sucks. 

Lately I’ve just been “not bothered”. But not in the way you think. It’s not laziness, it’s just me accepting that I can’t please everyone all the time. But why should I? Why should anyone? 

Happiness has always been “my thing”. But people rely on me to be the optimistic, happy, always-there-to-cheer-someone-else-up-all-the-time kind of person. In my mind, I could never betray them by telling and showing them my true feelings. 

I’ve just become exhausted. But with only two weeks left in school do I “shatter” my image and spill. . . or do I just grin my teeth and bare it? 

Exams. Fake friends. Career. Toxic relationships. Universities. Family. Pressure. 

I always want to share happiness. . . that hasn’t changed. I’m willing to be the positive person as long as I know the other party will be there for me. But I can hardly say that now. . .

And at the moment,
I’m not happy. 

 

12 thoughts on “Is it possible to have a mid life crisis at 17?

  1. I’ve been there too, and funnily enough, at 17, in my last year of school. It’s not a mid-life crisis, but the one that gets you as all of a sudden you realise that you are being ejected into a whole new world, as you transition from one phase of your life to another. I’d like to be able to say it gets better, but it sometimes takes time, and you just can’t wait. All I’ll say is hang in there, appreciate the good bits. Some time soon, you’ll look back and (hopefully) chuckle. 🙂

  2. Hang in there. By the time May comes around everyone in your year just wants to fucking graduate already. I absolutely HATED my last three months of school. Don’t worry, you can give a big middle finger when it’s all over!

  3. That is exactly the way I feel as well, 17 with huge amounts of pressure being out on me. I know what it’s like, but you can hold out, it’s summer soon and that’s the time to forget all your responsibilities for a little while. Hang in there 🙂

  4. I’ve been feeling a little like this at the moment too…I guess all you have to do is wait it out, I only have two more weeks left as well and frankly I’m welcoming the end of school with open arms ^^ Try and do something fun once in a while to cheer yourself up, I went out today to see a friend that I hadn’t seen in weeks and it cheered me up 🙂 If you’re really having a tough time then maybe you should open up to someone, don’t worry about having to be optimistic all the time, we all have bad days and I’m sure your friends will understand that! I hope you feel better x

Leave a Reply

