Nocturnal instints

I love the stars.

I would spend every night of my life looking at the stars in the sky if I could. My sister never understood how I could just sit there and watch. Then again, it’s not like she cared.

I love the night. If it was up to me I’d sleep the day away and do everything at night. Don’t get me wrong though, I love the feeling of sun on my skin; but there’s not too much sun in Ireland.

I would watch the world if I could. I would gaze at Jupiter and the North Star all night.

I hate artificial light. Sure it’s handy, but I would only use it if necessary. Most nights if I’m studying I try to use natural lighting; until my parents come up. Sure it’s probably bad for my eye sight, but I never cared.

My mum was a bit like my sister. She’d look at the sky and say it’s pretty and move on. My dad understood me though.

When I was younger, I remember dad let my sister and I stay up late to look at the planet Mars. I was awestruck and totally infatuated with this. My sister went back to sleep. Even then I preferred the night and wanted to look at it for as long as I could, (my parents just thought I wanted to stay up). Eventually the got me in my bed and said goodnight again. To this day neither my parents nor I know remember that night. I remember being in my bed and thinking I would never ever see Mars again. And I started crying. I literally cried for about ten minutes before my dad came into me. He asked me why I was crying and I replied “I’ll never see the red planet again.” He laughed at me. Then he brought me downstairs again and let me look out the window.

I don’t remember what happened after that, but I’m pretty sure it’s my oldest memory.

We always look at the stars in my summer house up north. There’s no light pollution there and it seems like the sky is limitless. Then again, it practically is. Nothing bad has ever happened to me in the night.

But it’s cool though. I know all my friends and family are under those stars. I know my future friends and family are under those stars. I know all the ocean and all the rainforest is under those stars. I know the only way I can ever get happy again is under those stars.

5 thoughts on “Nocturnal instints

  1. Do you live in Ireland? That. Is. So. Awesome. I’ve ALWAYS wanted to go there. I am obsessed with the stars as well. I’m in love with nature and live in a nice pretty country area (NOT a hick town.. Ew). But the peace is unreal and nothing satisfies me like sitting on my roof on a starry night.

    1. Haha I do indeed, but in the bleak winter it isn’t all green and leprechauns! 😀 where are you from? I’d love to have a roof to sit on! Unfortunately my house is pointy and it’s usually raining or freezing! Thanks for the comment 🙂

      1. We get snow sometimes, although it’s not fun snow (sad face). It’s usually like slush or just frozen xD I’d love live in America! It just seems like a giant wonderland of everything!

      2. Haha oh it definitely is!! There’s always something new or a really interesting place everywhere you go. But the longer you live here, everything just mushes together and starts to seem boring. But I definitely plan to visit Ireland someday!

Leave a Reply

