Happiness is the product of the choices we make

 I auditioned for a public speaking group in my school today. Half way through I got the shakes but I wasn’t nervous at all. That’s how strange my mind is. Anywoo, maybe this will inspire someone 🙂 

Fellow students and teachers, the topic I have chosen for my promotion of Positive Mental Health is that “Happiness is the product of the choices we make.”

Because happiness is a choice. There’s no reason why you can’t wake up every day and say “today is going to be the best day of my life” and believe it. But I know it’s easier said than done. You can’t always be happy, I know. I’m not crazy. *pause*. We can make a conscious decision to simply choose the way that we feel by wanting to. Happiness is not something you postpone for the future. It is something designed for the present. And it comes when we stop complaining about the troubles we have and say thanks for the troubles we don’t have. By smiling, the simple act of smiling, even if you don’t feel like smiling, will put you physiologically in a better mood. There’s so much to be happy for. The world is such a beautiful place. So if you see a photo on tumblr or pintrest and think “hey, I’d like to go there”, then go there when you finish school and have the chance to. In life you are given two options: You can either choose happiness or you could just give up. So say to yourself “You know what? I’m not going to be in a bad mood, no, I refuse to accept this mood that I’m in right now. I’m going to smile.” Take a deep breath of oxygen and say “I’m going to be happy.” No matter what the outside influences are how everybody is negative and pessimistic and think the whole world is hell, it’s much better to be happy than to be sad all the time. Don’t hold on to negative thoughts and people. So every morning make yourself go like “this”. And say “I just don’t feel good right now and I don’t want to feel that way anymore, so I’m going to be happy.” Choose to be “this” person. There’s so much in the world to smile about and use your smile to change the world- don’t let the world change your smile. And in the wise words of Abraham Lincoln “Most folks are about as happy as they make up their minds to be.” Thank you for listening. 

2 thoughts on “Happiness is the product of the choices we make

Leave a Reply

