Explaining the concept of blogging to my Mom…

As you can probably guess from the tone of my title, this didn’t go as swiftly as it should have. I know I know my parents grew up in a different time with no internet but they haven’t adapted that well to the wonders of what the internet can do! Ok yes, I accept that because of their jobs and just being parents in general they’d see most social networking sites as a way for people to access everything about you. However, this is the minority of what the world wide web has to offer. But nope, to them the only good thing about it is being able to look up news when ever they want…

So back to my original title. For some strange reason today, my mum took an interest in asking me about blogging. I had forgotten I had told her about owning a blog (which I did a few months back) but she seemed to remember. (I just never gave her the name so she was never really interested in it.) She asked me about how people see other blogs and I tried explaining ‘tags’ to her. For example, I said if I wrote a piece on my recent holidays to Spain, I’d tag #Spain #Summer #Europe and related info on my blog. The usual standard stuff. It then took me ages to tell her that if some randomer across the ocean decided to type in ‘Spain Blog’, my blog would not be on top of the list. (Obviously because I’m not that popular of a blogger…yet ;D). She couldn’t understand this. She then asked me why people would want others looking at their blogs online. She phrased it somehow of how she was totally comfortable with reading someone else’s blog, but if anyone read anything she would ever put up she’s probably sue them in some way. (Mums logic, don’t ask). I tried ever so hard to explain that people want others to see their blog. (She couldn’t grasp this at all). So I had to use examples she could relate to like; reporters wanting the public to read their articles, singers wanting the public to hear their talent and stories like these. But nope, she accepted the fact that she would never be able to understand it.
*Cue frustration here*
However, somewhere in that mind she decided she wants me to work at Google.
Moral of the story….? Don’t bring it up again ;D

One thought on “Explaining the concept of blogging to my Mom…

Leave a Reply

