Rent Review- No day but today!

I was looking at old files on my laptop, and found this review of RENT the musical I went to last February that I never published. I don’t know why to be honest. I probably didn’t like it that much, but ah sure, why not? 
Image 

Arriving to the black box theatre at half seven, I was surprised to see how full the waiting area already was. However, I managed to get through the huge crowds and over to some actors “in character” selling programs in their tattered clothes and cardboard signs. Along with the “crowd control”- AKA, a character with a thick American accent telling us to enjoy the show. She also told the waiting crowd how good of a babysitter she was while subtly revealing her fish net tights. Taking our seats in the crowed auditorium, my cousin, friend and I chose the second row on the ground. Well, it was either that or waaaay in the back- a seat my parents took. It was a very energetic atmosphere. There were more actors “in character” onstage. Mainly hobos smoking the herbal stage cigarettes, a trick I learnt long ago to portray real ones.

As the lights dimmed and the background audio started, I was looking really forward to this show. And I wasn’t disappointed. At all. It was amazing.  Jonathan Larson indeed wrote a fantastic script and amazing songs, but I do have to say that this production of RENT was spectacular due to all involved. I may be a bit biased since it was my sister’s musical society group in it, but nevertheless it was fantastic. I laughed, I cried, I even moo-ed. The main actor was hot, the main actress was stunning (we couldn’t get over how her hair was not fake) and all over it was a good night.

A few days after I decided to watch the actual movie. It was good, but not as good as the live production, (well…it never is). Although I did catch a few things that I didn’t notice before, which made the whole thing make more sense. However, I thought the movie cast was terrible. I didn’t feel the connection between ‘Roger’ and ‘Mimi’ as I did on stage. Besides Idina Menzel, a personal favourite of mine, I didn’t like the cast at all to be honest. But, they were good singers. 

4 thoughts on “Rent Review- No day but today!

  1. This is quite a spectacular musical! It was strange to read you didn’t like the cast from the movie, as most of that cast was pulled straight from the original Broadway production. I’ve seen a few productions, and I feel that the movie exceeded the staged production in some ways, while the staged version excelled in many others. Regardless, it is a wonderful piece that I hope lasts through the ages. No Day But Today!

    1. It really is one of my favourites, and I really do like the actors, like Rosario Dawson, but I don’t know. I suppose I was a bit iffy watching it after having front row seats to a spectacular production! Thanks for your comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

