Taking a year out?

This is a question that has always been on my mind. Especially recently. And that is; taking a year out before college. I’ve always had this plan to get in and out as soon as possible. Therefore explain one of the reasons why I didn’t do Transition Year. Which means I’ll be seventeen doing my Leaving Cert, and seventeen going to college. So upon turning sixteen last week (yahoo!) I realised, I don’t have that much long until I actually really need to think about college. I don’t know why, but I’ve always loved being the youngest or oldest around people, but more so youngest involving academic relations. So I’ve always had this ‘thing’ in my head that I’ll be seventeen in college, and all will be well. (Besides, I don’t plan on being a drinker). But from talking to people, or people who’ve had friends not being eighteen going to college, it doesn’t sound that appealing. But my thoughts were-hey, at least I won’t be behind my friends if I have to repeat….IF…. But what if (luckily) I don’t have to repeat, and I’m left with the decision to: 
1. Start college practically a year younger than everyone else. 
2. Take a year out for myself. 
Sure, taking a year out seems fun, and cool, and mature. But I have no idea how to go about it! I know my parents are striving for me to do it, but what do I do? 
Everything seems to be steadily creeping up on me, and I feel like it’s this surging black hole within me provoking me to do something quick to stop it. 
If I take a year out, do I stay in Ireland? Do I go live in another country? Do I volunteer? Do I work full time? What do I work as? What job takes on someone with no experience? 
Anyone willing to take on a seventeen year old in the summer of 2014 to 2015, I’m your gal! 

Leave a Reply

