Second day at Work Experience!

I stayed in the clinic today! Yaaay. 
I think the women knew yesterday my forte was not for cows…. although if you need to test your limousine cow for bovine tuberculosis…I’m your gal!
So today was pretty interesting actually. Like yesterday, I kinda of did nothing but observe for the first half hour. But I felt more comfortable doing it…if that makes sense? The clinic nurse arrived and the day really got started. 
First in was Freddie, who apparently liked to be call Fredrick. This little cute corgi was in to get castrated… ouch… And let me tell you, it was quite weird to watch. They had knocked him out and carried him to the surgery room. The vet placed him on a cushion and injected two needles into him. She then lightly tied his two legs, with a rope, on a bar underneath. She shaved his lower part and then started the procedure. She basically popped his testicles out like you would a spot on your face. It was a strange experience. I was then told to go down to the kennel room and fill his cage with bubble wrap and newspaper. The clinic vet brought him down and placed him there for a few hours. 
Along came in Sheba (I think that’s how you spell it, she-bah), an English setter. I had my first encounter with this beautiful animal when I was told to boil the kettle in the kitchen. Sheba had been placed in there next to the radiator and window before her operation. So while waiting for the kettle to boil, I happily petted her. It was the beginning of a beautiful friendship. I helped the nurse prep for Sheba’s surgery. Disinfected equipment etc. We brought Sheba into the room and weighed her. Then injected anesthetic into her to make her sleep for a while. The cutie fell asleep against the door of the kitchen so we had to be careful in moving her. We brought her in and placed her on the ground. After lowering the surgery table, I held her legs as we lifted her up. I then watched as the vet removed a lump from her. She wasn’t neutered, so she was apparently more likely to get lumps like these. Like Fredrick, we tied her legs down and shaved her. The lump was removed, and the vet stitched her up. She was too heavy to move anywhere so we placed her on a cushion in the room.The vet then put a pressure bandage around her that hilariously resembled a diaper. I then spent a good ten minutes just petting her before lunch. I went home for lunch today and came back at half two. I immediately went to check up on Sheba. I also learned poor Freddie was in a terrible mood, and talking to no one. I petted Sheba for a good while and helped her move around a bit, it was awkward with a dog nappy on. I cleaned up her poop and then was told to just walk her around. She wasn’t in a very cheerful mood and seemed to just mope around the place. I took her outside for a bit, but she didn’t pee. The clinic vet came back and fixed the her hind bandage. Sheba was happy about this. I sat around the main reception of the clinic with Shebas’ lead in my hand. The women in the office were so nice again. I observed, still with the drowsy Sheba, all the customers who came to purchase goods for their farms. The women in the office were so excited that the boss let them order and purchase new equipment for the clinic. They called a few cow owners to check up on their cows, and to book appointments. When Shebas ‘dad’ finally arrived, she was totally a different dog. She was giddy, and happy and it was so funny. 
Next thing I knew it was half five and my last day had been done. My teacher asked for an secret evaluation form to be filled out. The woman laughed and was like “I really want to put excellent for everything, but that would look fake. I’ll put good for problem-solving as you didn’t have any problems.” It was meant to be a secret…oh well… I then gave them a tin of chocolates to say thanks for the two days and it was well appreciated  along with “I should have just put excellent for everything.” 
All in all, it was an amazing two days. When I finish my third, I will post an evaluation of my time experiencing veterinary nursing.  

Leave a Reply

